Español | Other Languages

Salmonellosis (Salmonella spp.)

Salmonellosis (Salmonella spp.)

National Notifiable Time Periods

National Notifiable Condition/Subtype
From Year To Year
1944 Current

Case Definition(s)

Related Condition(s)


In MMWR   year 2018, cases of Salmonella  should be classified into three different conditions, for submission to the NNDSS: 1) Salmonellosis (excluding paratyphoid fever and typhoid fever), 2) Paratyphoid fever (caused by Salmonella  serotypes Paratyphi A, Paratyphi B [tartrate negative] and Paratyphi C), and 3) Typhoid fever.  These condition name changes were made (without a related position statement from the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists) to accommodate the Foodborne and Diarrheal Diseases Message Mapping Guide.

Beginning in MMWR   year 2019, Salmonella  cases should be classified as: 1) Salmonella  Typhi infection, 2) Salmonella  Paratyphi infection, and 3) Salmonellosis (excluding S. Typhi infection and S. Paratyphi infection).

Page last reviewed: April 16, 2021